After so long time … something dating back to my childhood … ARTICHOKES!!!

Being away from this blog for so long, for so many different reasons I don’t want to be boring explaining you why …

I’m back!

Ok, so why then artichokes… Because I was born in Florence, my home town where I’ve just come back living in …

And I do love artichokes.

When I was little I used to have the stem of the artichoke in the pushchair instead of other stuff to nibble …

I am in love with the artichoke’s flavour. That’ s why I could even talk to you about the extra virgin olive oil in Tuscany, which has typical artichokes notes, but I won’t.

Let’s focus.

Ok. Let’s start with some pictures.

I know they look scary (the artichokes … but yes also some pictures might be scary, I admit I am not that good in taking pictures) . But let’s go step by step.

 

2014-04-05 17.38.19

 

First remove some external “leaves”. And then a big cut of the head top.

Then…

2014-04-05 17.39.08

Let’s cut it in 4 pieces.

Let’s remove the so called “little beard”.

2014-04-05 17.40.11

This way…

2014-04-05 17.39.45

Ok, so do you see the difference before and after? Good.

Now it’s almost done!

This was the more tough part of the game.

Now just take a sauce pane, and put some olive oil (extra virgin always!), a piece or two of garlic and one onion cleaned and cut in small pieces.

 

20150118_150626

 

Let it heat, and let the onions shrink a little without burning (red onions are better for the taste).

Then stirr.

Add the artichokes. First the stems which you have previousely cleaned too, just removing the first layer of their cover and cutting them in small sticks. Then the rest. And stirr and let all cook.

Put the flame lower since the very beginning ’cause it has to be a slow cooking (you don’t have to burn them!).

Not too much cooking because you know artichokes are good even raw. Anyway… just taste a bite and see.

Not over cooked please! That’s it.

 

20150116_210133

 

So you can have an amazing plate of artichokes let’s say in less than half an hour?

Tasty, healthy… Don’t forget artichokes are dreadfully rich in iron!!!

20150116_210401

Get your strenght back then, and enjoy real food! Not plastic one!

And enjoy cooking too!

This time I’ve done them without persil, but actually simply buy some fresh persil and add some while cooking.

For the taste it’s just adding a plus …

 

Thanks for reading me again…

And welcome back! (that I’m saying it to myself …)

See you soon…

 

Barbara

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

